R.I.P. | Amy Winehouse, 23.07.2011




Valerie | Acoustic version

The gasp that escaped my mouth upon hearing the news of Amy Winehouse’s death is no indicator of how big of hers a fan I was. Although I considered her a good artist and singer, I hadn’t devoted much time to listening to her albums, only knowing her biggest hits and a couple of somewhat more famous songs (‘You Know I’m No Good’ and ‘Tears Dry on Their Own’). It’s another one of those cases (remember Michael Jackson, Jade Goody?) where up until their death a celebrity has to live under the destructive torrent of the public’s criticisms – and suddenly, in most people’s esteem, their death erases all their past errors and terrible reputations and brings to the forefront their best qualities; I won’t deny I’m not a victim of this hypocritical forgive-and-forget syndrome.

By coincidence I happened to be in London the weekend she died, and so decided to visit the shrine outside her house. Artwork (one painting made with hair!), beer cans, cigarette packs, a ukelele, flowers – the collection of relics left there by fans was one-of-a-kind.




Tears Dry On Their Own | Organized Noize Remix

It is a sad but harsh truth about the state of our world that only death brings an end to people’s unnecessary interest and negative judgement of celebrity’s lives, judgement which is by no means justified considering it is no business of ours.

One thought on “R.I.P. | Amy Winehouse, 23.07.2011

  1. Hi, I really liked your post! I wish I could have gone there but it just wasn’t possible. .although I have been to Camden before to peek around at Amy’s world. lol. Please check out my new blog when you get a chance! Thanks. Nicole.

    http://amyjadefan.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment